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Customer data for shopping

Proposals

Suppliers would need to sign an agreement to use the data that would prohibit them from sharing any of the information.

Customers would be able to opt-out of having their data provided on the list.

Open Items

Ameren advocated using the NAESB standard for customer lists.  ComEd agreed.

We will need more consumer group input.

Enrollment

Proposals

There is agreement among parties that requiring only the account number for an enrollment would limit exceptions and remove a barrier to switching

There was a discussion of the Letter of Agency (LOA) and the fact that it can now be wet signature, Internet based with verifying information, or telephonic with third party verification.  If the customer initiates the call, confirmation needs to be recorded.

The switch letter would need to provide information for the customer to rescind the request.  This would be a safeguard for slamming.

Open Items

There was a discussion about suppliers allowing contracts to be cancelled during this window without penalty (before the switch).  It was also suggested to extend this to 30 days after the first bill.

The current 7-day enrollment window should be expanded (at least for mass market) to allow for the letter to get to the customer and for them to act on it before the switch takes place.  The discussion centered around 15 calendar days, which is similar to New York and Texas.

For discussion purposes:

A--------------------------------------B-C---D------E--F

A is the earliest date a RES may submit a DASR – 45 days before the first of the month the switch is requested for.  This could be up to 76 days before the switch.

B is the latest date a RES may submit a DASR – for example, 15 days before the customer’s bill group date.

C is the date the utility sends out the switch letter – if there are no exceptions, this should be 1-2 days after receipt of the DASR.

D is when the customer actually receives the letter – could be 1-3 days from mailing.

E is the last day the customer would be able to rescind the switch – for example, 2 days before the beginning of the bill window (4 days before the bill group date).

F is the customer’s bill group date.

