The Illinois Commerce Commission has five members, one of whom is designated as Chairman by the Governor.  Each Commissioner is appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Illinois State Senate for a five-year term.  Under Illinois law, no more than three Commissioners may belong to the same political party. For a list of former Commissioners see the Commissioner List page.